Apr 13, 2013

Charanjit Singh ‎– Synthesizing: Ten Ragas To A Disco Beat

[...] Latterly, outside of India, Charanjit Singh gained attention for his 1982 release Synthesizing: Ten Ragas to a Disco Beat, an album originally intended as a fusion of electronic disco music with Indian classical ragas. Singh's use of both the TR-808 drum machine, and TB-303 bass synthesizer has led some music journalists to suggest that it is perhaps the earliest example of acid house music; predating Phuture's seminal Chicago acid house record "Acid Tracks" (1987) by five years. Comparisons have also been made with the work of other electronic dance musicians who were inspired by acid house such as Ceephax, Phuture 303, and Aphex Twin. According to The Guardian writer Stuart Aitken, Singh's record was "far ahead" of its time.

Recorded in 1982 at HMV Studios in Bombay, India.
Equipment: Roland Jupiter-8, Roland TB-303, Roland TR-808.

01 Raga Bhairav       
02 Raga Lalit       
03 Raga Bhupali       
04 Raga Megh Malhar       
05 Raga Yaman       
06 Raga Kalavati       
07 Raga Madhuvanti       
08 Raga Todi       
09 Raga Bairagi       
10 Raga Malkauns

Download (89 Mb)